WAFA Awards 2023

Nom­i­na­tions for Youth Cat­e­go­ry extend­ed till 9th June 2023.

Call for Nom­i­na­tions
We are seek­ing nom­i­na­tions for WAFA Awards in the fol­low­ing cat­e­gories:

Out­stand­ing Con­tri­bu­tion by a Female Fire­fight­er

This award is designed to show the appre­ci­a­tion, ded­i­ca­tion and con­grat­u­la­tions to a woman work­ing in the Fire and Emer­gency Ser­vices indus­try who has:

· demon­strat­ed con­sis­tent lead­er­ship

· encour­aged and sup­port­ed the devel­op­ment of women

· been an inspi­ra­tional role mod­el

· giv­en self­less­ly of them­selves in sup­port of their com­mu­ni­ty, or

· shown unwa­ver­ing ded­i­ca­tion to our indus­try.

Youth Lead­er­ship Award

This award recog­nis­es a young woman (1620 years) who is a vol­un­teer in the fire and emer­gency ser­vices indus­try who has demon­strat­ed strong and con­sis­tent lead­er­ship and a com­mit­ment to the safe­ty of their com­mu­ni­ty.

Cham­pi­on of Change (updat­ed)*

Based on feed­back the Board of WAFA has used it’s dis­cre­tion to update this award to be more inclu­sive of any­one who cham­pi­ons change. This award recog­nis­es a cham­pi­on with­in our indus­try who has:

· con­sis­tent­ly men­tored and coached women

· cre­at­ed, pro­vid­ed and active­ly pro­mot­ed a work envi­ron­ment that sup­ports the inclu­sion of women, or

· con­sis­tent­ly advo­cat­ed for diver­si­ty and inclu­sion with­in their organ­i­sa­tion or the indus­try as a whole.

Mem­ber Organ­i­sa­tion Diver­si­ty, Fair­ness and Inclu­sion’ award

WAFA recog­nis­es that all organ­i­sa­tions are striv­ing to be proac­tive in the diver­si­ty and inclu­sion space. This award recog­nis­es an organisation’s effort and ded­i­ca­tion to diver­si­ty and inclu­sion through pro­grams and ini­tia­tives which have pro­duced tan­gi­ble results.

Award nom­i­na­tions are due by close of busi­ness on 31/3/2023 and will be pre­sent­ed at the AFAC23 Awards Cer­e­mo­ny. 

Entry Require­ments

Each entry must:

· Be made via com­plet­ing this form.

· Pro­vide suf­fi­cient infor­ma­tion and sup­port­ing evi­dence to clear­ly explain the inten­tion and scope of the achieve­ment and the nom­i­na­tion


WAFA Awards are open to indi­vid­u­als and WAFA mem­ber organ­i­sa­tions.

Why nom­i­nate?

The Awards are about recog­nis­ing suc­cess through lead­er­ship. Nom­i­nate some­one for an Award to acknowl­edge a col­league, organ­i­sa­tion or ini­tia­tive.

· Use the nom­i­na­tion process to pro­file your col­league, organ­i­sa­tion or ini­tia­tive and high­light what suc­cess through lead­er­ship looks like.

· Bench­mark your nom­i­na­tion against oth­er cred­i­ble indi­vid­u­als, organ­i­sa­tions and ini­tia­tives.

· An indi­vid­ual, organ­i­sa­tion and ini­tia­tive will ben­e­fit from the expo­sure gen­er­at­ed by the Awards which will boost their pro­file.

· Use the pres­tige of win­ning an award in your mar­ket­ing and col­lat­er­al to fur­ther pro­mote your organisation’s cred­i­bil­i­ty.

· Win­ning an Award is a reward­ing expe­ri­ence for your col­leagues and organ­i­sa­tion, acknowl­eg­ing that they are part of a suc­cess­ful and inclu­sive team.

· Nom­i­nate your staff for indi­vid­ual awards to recog­nise their per­son­al suc­cess and achieve­ments.


The WAFA Board will judge each cat­e­go­ry.

The judges may, at their sole dis­cre­tion, make inquiries or request addi­tion­al infor­ma­tion to ver­i­fy or con­firm any aspect of any entry. Notwith­stand­ing, it is the respon­si­bil­i­ty of the per­son sub­mit­ting the nom­i­na­tion to ensure that their entry pro­vides suf­fi­cient infor­ma­tion and sup­port­ing evi­dence to enable a com­plete assess­ment to be made.

Where there are suf­fi­cient num­bers of entries in a cat­e­go­ry, the judges may at their sole dis­cre­tion choose a run­ner-up and / or high­ly com­mend one or more nom­i­nees

If, in the opin­ion of the judges, there is no nom­i­na­tion of a suf­fi­cient stan­dard to war­rant an award in a cat­e­go­ry, the judges may decline to make an award in that cat­e­go­ry, or may com­mend an entry with­out announc­ing it as the win­ner.

The deci­sion of the judges is final.


The WAFA Awards will be pre­sent­ed dur­ing the Awards Cer­e­mo­ny at AFAC23 in Bris­bane, Aus­tralia on 22 August 2023.

Short­list­ed nom­i­nees will be advised at least six weeks in advance.

Trav­el and accom­mo­da­tion, if required, is at the nominee’s own cost.

Nom­i­na­tions close 31st March 2023.

*Nom­i­na­tions received pri­or to 1/2/23 will be con­sid­ered as part of the new category. 

WAFA Awards 2023

Nominate here.