Award Nomination

Nom­i­na­tions now open for the 2020 WAFA Con­fer­ence Awards

WAFA loves to cel­e­brate the achieve­ments of our mem­bers and the great organ­i­sa­tions that sup­port us. Nom­i­na­tions are now open for the WAFA 2020 Awards for the fol­low­ing cat­e­gories:

Out­stand­ing Con­tri­bu­tion by a Female Fire­fight­er
This award is designed to show the appre­ci­a­tion, ded­i­ca­tion and con­grat­u­la­tions to a woman work­ing in the Fire and Emer­gency Ser­vices indus­try who has:
• demon­strat­ed con­sis­tent lead­er­ship;
• encour­aged and sup­port­ed the devel­op­ment of women;
• been an inspi­ra­tional role mod­el;
• giv­en self­less­ly of them­selves in sup­port of their com­mu­ni­ty; or
• shown unwa­ver­ing ded­i­ca­tion to our indus­try.

Youth Lead­er­ship Award
This award recog­nis­es a young woman (1620 years) who is a vol­un­teer in the fire and emer­gency ser­vices indus­try who has demon­strat­ed strong and con­sis­tent lead­er­ship and a com­mit­ment to the safe­ty of their com­mu­ni­ty.

Male Cham­pi­on Award
With­out our male col­leagues sup­port­ing and encour­ag­ing us, our abil­i­ty to influ­ence the indus­try would be a lot hard­er. This award recog­nis­es a male cham­pi­on with­in our indus­try who has:
• con­sis­tent­ly men­tored and coached women;
• cre­at­ed, pro­vid­ed and active­ly pro­mot­ed a work envi­ron­ment that sup­ports the inclu­sion of women; or
• con­sis­tent­ly advo­cat­ed for diver­si­ty and inclu­sion with­in their organ­i­sa­tion or the indus­try as a whole.

Mem­ber Organ­i­sa­tion Diver­si­ty, Fair­ness and Inclu­sion’ award
WAFA recog­nis­es that all organ­i­sa­tions are striv­ing to be proac­tive in the Diver­si­ty and Inclu­sion space. This award recog­nis­es an organ­i­sa­tion’s effort and ded­i­ca­tion to diver­si­ty and inclu­sion through pro­grams and ini­tia­tives which have pro­duced tan­gi­ble results.

: Award nom­i­na­tions are due by COB Fri­day June 26, 2020 and will be announced on August 26 when the con­fer­ence din­ner was to have tak­en place. To make a nom­i­na­tion, please click here.

Entry Require­ments
Each entry must:
• Be made via email to conference@​wafa.​asn.​au or via the link above. 
• Pro­vide suf­fi­cient infor­ma­tion and sup­port­ing evi­dence to clear­ly explain the inten­tion and scope of the achieve­ment and the nom­i­na­tion

WAFA Awards are open to indi­vid­u­als and fire indus­try organ­i­sa­tions.

Why enter?
• The Awards are about recog­nis­ing suc­cess through lead­er­ship. Enter the Awards to acknowl­edge a col­league, organ­i­sa­tion or ini­tia­tive. 
• Use the sub­mis­sion process to pro­file your col­league, organ­i­sa­tion or ini­tia­tive to high­light what suc­cess through lead­er­ship looks like.
• Bench­mark your nom­i­na­tion against oth­er cred­i­ble indi­vid­u­als, organ­i­sa­tions and ini­tia­tives.
• An indi­vid­ual, organ­i­sa­tion and ini­tia­tive will ben­e­fit from the expo­sure gen­er­at­ed by the Awards which will boost their pro­file.
• Use the pres­tige of nom­i­nat­ing and win­ning an award in your mar­ket­ing and col­lat­er­al to fur­ther pro­mote your organisation’s cred­i­bil­i­ty.
• A reward­ing expe­ri­ence for your col­leagues and organ­i­sa­tion to know that they are part of a suc­cess­ful and inclu­sive team.
• Nom­i­nate your staff for indi­vid­ual awards to recog­nise their per­son­al suc­cess and achieve­ments.

• The WAFA Board will judge each cat­e­go­ry.
• The judges may, at their sole dis­cre­tion, make inquiries or request addi­tion­al infor­ma­tion to ver­i­fy or con­firm any aspect of any entry. Notwith­stand­ing, it is the respon­si­bil­i­ty of each nom­i­nee to ensure that their entry pro­vides suf­fi­cient infor­ma­tion and sup­port­ing evi­dence to enable a com­plete assess­ment to be made.
• Where there are suf­fi­cient num­bers of entries in a cat­e­go­ry, the judges may at their sole dis­cre­tion choose a run­ner-up and / or high­ly com­mend one or more nom­i­nees
• If in the opin­ion of the judges there is no nom­i­na­tion of a suf­fi­cient stan­dard to war­rant an award in a cat­e­go­ry, the judges may decline to make an award in that cat­e­go­ry, or may com­mend an entry with­out announc­ing it as the win­ner.
• The deci­sion of the judges is final.

Award Nom­i­na­tions Close 03 July 2020

Submit Award Nomination here.